Some of Paul’s (Saul) life and works:

Posted: May 9, 2012 in Foundation on Apostle/ Apostolic

Paul’s conversion and vision of Jesus: As he neared Damascus on his journey, suddenly a light from heaven flashed around him. (Acts 9)

Paul’s calling and missions: But the Lord said to Ananias, “Go! This man is my chosen instrument to carry my name before the Gentiles and their kings and before the people of Israel. I will show him how much he must suffer for my name. (Acts 9:15-16)

In the church at Antioch there were prophets and teachers: Barnabas, Simeon called Niger, Lucius of Cyrene, Manaen (who had been brought up with Herod the tetrarch) and Saul. While they were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, “Set apart for me Barnabas and Saul for the work to which I have called them.” So after they had fasted and prayed, they placed their hands on them and sent them off. (Acts 13:1-3)
The two of them, sent on their way by the Holy Spirit, went down to Seleucia and sailed from there to Cyprus. When they arrived at Salamis, they proclaimed the word of God in the Jewish synagogues. John was with them as their helper. (Acts 13:4-5)

Crippled man healed: In Lystra there sat a man crippled in his feet, who was lame from birth and had never walked. He listened to Paul as he was speaking. Paul looked directly at him, saw that he had faith to be healed and called out, “Stand up on your feet!” At that, the man jumped up and began to walk. (Acts 14:8-10)

Paul’s vision of a man: During the night Paul had a vision of a man of Macedonia standing and begging him, “Come over to Macedonia and help us.” After Paul had seen the vision, we got ready at once to leave for Macedonia, concluding that God had called us to preach the gospel to them. (Acts 16:9-10)

Discernment and casting out spirit: Once when we were going to the place of prayer, we were met by a slave girl who had a spirit by which she predicted the future. She earned a great deal of money for her owners by fortune-telling. This girl followed Paul and the rest of us, shouting, “These men are servants of the Most High God, who are telling you the way to be saved.” She kept this up for many days. Finally Paul became so troubled that he turned around and said to the spirit, “In the name of Jesus Christ I command you to come out of her!” At that moment the spirit left her. (Acts 16:16-18)

About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the other prisoners were listening to them. Suddenly there was such a violent earthquake that the foundations of the prison were shaken. At once all the prison doors flew open, and everybody’s chains came loose. (Acts 16:25-26)

When Paul placed his hands on them, the Holy Spirit came on them, and they spoke in tongues and prophesied. There were about twelve men in all. (Acts 19:6-7)

In Ephesus: Paul entered the synagogue and spoke boldly there for three months, arguing persuasively about the kingdom of God. (Acts 19:8)

Dead Raised: Seated in a window was a young man named Eutychus, who was sinking into a deep sleep as Paul talked on and on. When he was sound asleep, he fell to the ground from the third story and was picked up dead. Paul went down, threw himself on the young man and put his arms around him. “Don’t be alarmed,” he said. “He’s alive!” (Acts 20:9-10)

James, Peter and John, those reputed to be pillars, gave me and Barnabas the right hand of fellowship when they recognized the grace given to me. They agreed that we should go to the Gentiles, and they to the Jews. All they asked was that we should continue to remember the poor, the very thing I was eager to do. (Gal 2:9-10)

(Paul had a gift of missionary, but James, Peter and john were not a missionary according to this verses. A missionary is anyone with any kind of gifts or talents for the Kingdom of God serving another culture. In this verse we also find Paul with James, Peter and John, we could find Paul’s submissive heart to fellow servants, his relationship with them, his servant-hood and humbleness).

Paul, a servant of Christ Jesus, called to be an apostle and set apart for the gospel of God– (Romans 1:1)

By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as an expert builder. (1 Cor 3:10)

To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. (1 Cor 9:22)

What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ (Phil 3:8)

If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. (1 Cor 13:2)
Vs 3 – If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

1 Corinthians 13:13 – And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

I thank God that I speak in tongues more than all of you. (1 Cor 14:18)

The things that mark an apostle–signs, wonders and miracles–were done among you with great perseverance. (2 Cor 12:12) (So, the mark of an apostle are – signs, wonders and miracles)

According to 2 Cor 12:7 – Paul received surpassingly great revelations.
Because of this SURPASSINGLY GREAT REVELATIONS, “Thorn” was given him. – (2 Cor 12:7-10)

To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Cor 12:7-10)

The “THORNS” here are – I delight in weaknesses (‘weakness’ here is not about sicknesses or sins because the purpose for this weakness is that Christ power may rest on Paul, and also the verse said, “For Christ sake”, so we do not sin nor fall into sick for God’s power to rest upon us and we do not sin nor fall into sicknesses for Christ’s sake, and it is not the characters and natures of God, in the characters and natures of God, God is Holy and is a healer, redeemer, savior, and so on), so the thorns are weaknesses (so it could mainly be limited ability in human beings to face things, but with God’s grace), insults, hardships, persecutions, difficulties, and Paul delight in these things, he even said, “when I am weak, then i am strong”.

In reading this, then, you will be able to understand my insight into the mystery of Christ, which was not made known to men in other generations as it has now been revealed by the Spirit to God’s holy apostles and prophets. (Ephesians 3:4-5)

Men ought to regard us as servants of Christ and as those entrusted with the secret things of God. 1 (1 Corinthians 4:1)

We are fools for Christ, but you are so wise in Christ! We are weak, but you are strong! You are honored, we are dishonored! To this very hour we go hungry and thirsty, we are in rags, we are brutally treated, we are homeless. We work hard with our own hands. When we are cursed, we bless; when we are persecuted, we endure it; when we are slandered, we answer kindly. Up to this moment we have become the scum of the earth, the refuse of the world. (1 Corinthians 4:10-13)

Paul’s was supported by people of God in finance: I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need. Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.
To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen. (Phil 4:12-20)

I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead. (Philippians 3:10-11)

Paul has a God who is able: Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. (Ephe 3:20-21)

(Paul’s Missionary traveling places are not added here).

A servant of Christ, appointed and sent by the Apostle and our Lord, Jesus Christ,
David Chawngthu
Jesus Christ is Lord, the Lord of Heaven and Earth

Comments
  1. Paul's supporters: says:

    Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid again and again when I was in need. Not that I am looking for a gift, but I am looking for what may be credited to your account. I have received full payment and even more; I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.

    To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

    Phil 4:14-20

Leave a Reply

