Stories of Grace, kindness and compassion:

Posted: October 15, 2015 in Family/ kids and environments

There are many characters and natures of God, some of His characters are love, grace, forgiving, compassionate, patient, and merciful. This time we will focus on some of these characters of God.

4 stories from my Grand Dad:

My Grand Dad was a tough person, but was also one of the most gracious, kind, and compassionate person that I have ever known.

1. One day, while we were a kid, one of our relative who was a boy kicked a ball in our watch shop, it seemed to hit some clock in the wall, even fell and seemed to be broken. What I remember most was that my Grand Dad told not to do any harm to him, not to do anything to that boy. That was gracious, understanding, merciful, and compassionate, he don’t want him to feel bad for the mistake he did.

2. Another incident was, one of our son ran around our home while we were living together with our Grand Dad, his shirt pulled a rod shelf, all the plates, bowls, and cups fell down to the floor, it was a mistake, and some of the cups were even broken, but my Grand Dad told not to do any harm to him, not to do anything to him, that too was gracious, understanding, gentle, compassionate and kind, and those are the characters of God.

3. While I was 8yrs old my Dad died, I was in hostel, my friends were saying, “when I went out from hostel I will let my Dad buy this and Dad”, it was painful to me at that moment, so when I went home I told my Grand Dad what my friends were saying and that I have no more dad to talk about. I always remember what my Grand Dad told me, “Say whatever you want, I will buy for you”, there was nothing that I really want to buy but I went out and bought a soccer glove.

4. Even in my teens and early 20’s, he has shown me much grace and kindness. There are times if he scold me a little bit harsh, he would later come back to me, sit by my side, and ask me forgiveness and I would forgive him again.

Jesus_hug

There are many other situations that I can write that I know my Grand Dad was gracious, kind, understanding, tenderhearted, compassionate, forgiving, and merciful, but for this time the 4 examples above will be enough, I learn a lot from him even in the ways I treat my children, youths, and other children, it has imparted in me many of those characters of God he carries, and those are simply the characters of God.

10461429_581579591974510_4816924580379393821_n

Youths and children too need to be shown the characters of God, it is important to demonstrate these characters of God even as we relate to them, so that they will easily build these characters of God in their lives – being kind, loving, gracious, merciful, forgiving, tenderhearted and being compassionate to them. The most important thing in a family is the environment of love.

The word of God said in Psalm 103:8, “The LORD is compassionate and gracious, Slow to anger and abounding in lovingkindness”.

– David Chawngthu

Leave a Reply

